Oregon Continuing Education Requirements:
Beginning July 1, 2016, to renew an active license you will need 25 Continuing Education Hours. Please understand that massage laws change frequently and vary from state to state. We will try to provide you with the most current information possible.
You must complete 25 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal:
2. Effective January 1, 2019: BLS CPR - All applications for licensure must be accompanied by proof of current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) designed for professional health care providers.
The CPR certification standard is the American Heart Association’s Basic Life Support (BLS) Healthcare Providers Course or its equivalent. A CPR certification card must include an expiration date.
* Please NOTE that BLS CPR is required for all applicants for license renewal and initial license.
CE Requirement Effective January 1, 2020:
Cultural Competency - All licensees will have to take and submit at least one hour of cultural competency as part of the required 25 hours of continuing education.
413.450 Continuing education in cultural competency.
(1) The Oregon Health Authority shall approve continuing education opportunities relating to cultural competency.
(2) The authority shall develop a list of continuing education opportunities relating to cultural competency and make the list available to each board, as defined in ORS 676.850.
(3) The continuing education opportunities may include, but need not be limited to:
(a) Courses delivered either in person or electronically;
(b) Experiential learning such as cultural or linguistic immersion;
(c) Service learning; or
(d) Specially designed cultural experiences.
(4) The continuing education opportunities must teach attitudes, knowledge and skills that enable a health care professional to care effectively for patients from diverse cultures, groups and communities, including but not limited to:
(a) Applying linguistic skills to communicate effectively with patients from diverse cultures, groups and communities;
(b) Using cultural information to establish therapeutic relationships; and
(c) Eliciting, understanding and applying cultural and ethnic data in the process of clinical care.
You can verify this information or contact the State of Oregon with further questions by visiting the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists.
Oregon Renewal Requirements:
Effective July 1, 2019, licensees will see an increase of $25 in renewal fee per biennium for an inactive license status, an increase of $45 in renewal fee per biennium for an active license status. Increases of $100 for initial license and $50 increase for an initial license under 12 months and increases of $150 for the initial facility permit application fee.
Check out BOARDerline for more details.
Washington Continuing Education Requirements:
Beginning July 30, 2017, to renew an active license you will need 24 Continuing Education Hours. Please understand that massage laws change frequently and vary from state to state. We will try to provide you with the most current information possible.
You must complete 24 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal:
You can verify this information or contact the State of Washington with further questions by visiting the State of Washington Department of Health.
The program at PNWCERC meets the requirements for the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists and the Washington Department of Health. If you are licensed in another state, please verify with your licensing board before taking our classes.